American River Collegecollege in Sacramento, CA

Sacramento, California · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$7,999

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

36.6%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

25,621

In-state tuition

$1,288

Out-of-state tuition

$12,616

Cost of attendance

$16,384

Median earnings (10y)

$40,162

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
72.0%
Locale
Suburb

Programs breakdown

32 program areas reported · Academic mix is led by humanities & arts (31%), trades & services (25%), social sciences (22%).

  • STEM9%
  • Health5%
  • Business8%
  • Humanities & arts31%
  • Social sciences22%
  • Trades & services25%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

40 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Undergraduate certificate1,575——
Social Sciences, General.Associate's808$24,748—
Biological and Physical Sciences.Associate's662$25,407$14,400
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's469$34,120$7,575
Psychology, General.Associate's318——
Physical Sciences, General.Associate's228——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's158——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate150——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Associate's136——
Economics.Associate's130——
Legal Support Services.Associate's125——
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's120$87,305$20,341
Precision Metal Working.Undergraduate certificate113——
Accounting and Related Services.Associate's103$36,676—
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services.Associate's101——
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers.Undergraduate certificate91——
Sociology.Associate's86——
Legal Support Services.Undergraduate certificate78——
Computer Science.Associate's70——
Mathematics.Associate's67——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate62——
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection.Undergraduate certificate60——
Electrical/Electronics Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate59——
Funeral Service and Mortuary Science.Associate's56——
Business/Commerce, General.Associate's55——
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Associate's54——
Engineering, General.Associate's51——
Political Science and Government.Associate's51——
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services.Associate's51——
Computer Programming.Associate's50——
English Language and Literature, General.Associate's48——
Human Services, General.Associate's46——
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.Associate's43——
Culinary Arts and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate42——
Fire Protection.Associate's42——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Undergraduate certificate42——
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications.Associate's41——
Anthropology.Associate's41——
Natural Resources Conservation and Research.Undergraduate certificate39——
Communication and Media Studies.Associate's39——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About American River College

American River College is a very large institution located in Sacramento, California, primarily awarding the associate degree. It enrolls roughly 25,621 undergraduate students in a suburb setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Construction trades, Social sciences.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at American River College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $7,999 per year, which is very affordable compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $1,288 for in-state students and $12,616 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $16,384 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 36.6%, a average completion outcome. 72.0% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $40,162 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

American River College confers degrees and certificates across 32 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Construction trades, Social sciences. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (31% of credentials), trades & services (25% of credentials), social sciences (22% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Sacramento, California (suburb), American River College draws students from across California and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about American River College

Q.How much does American River College cost?

The average net price at American River College is $7,999 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $16,384.

Q.What is the graduation rate at American River College?

American River College has a 6-year graduation rate of 36.6% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do American River College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median American River College graduate earns $40,162 per year.

Q.What programs does American River College offer?

American River College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Construction trades, Social sciences.

Q.What is tuition at American River College?

Published tuition is $1,288 in-state and $12,616 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is American River College located?

American River College is located in Sacramento, California (ZIP 95841).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with American River College at their official website.