Berkeley City Collegecollege in Berkeley, CA

Berkeley, California · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$9,096

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

36.4%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

4,456

In-state tuition

$1,258

Out-of-state tuition

$9,898

Cost of attendance

$18,845

Median earnings (10y)

$41,217

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
62.8%
Locale
City

Programs breakdown

19 program areas reported · Heavily focused on humanities & arts (61% of credentials).

  • STEM9%
  • Business7%
  • Humanities & arts61%
  • Social sciences22%
  • Trades & services2%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

32 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Undergraduate certificate562——
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's197——
Psychology, General.Associate's80——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's78——
Economics.Associate's51——
Sociology.Associate's51——
Political Science and Government.Associate's30——
Communication and Media Studies.Associate's28——
Human Services, General.Undergraduate certificate28——
Mathematics.Associate's26——
Fine and Studio Arts.Associate's24——
Biology, General.Associate's22——
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication.Associate's18——
Graphic Communications.Undergraduate certificate18——
Education, Other.Undergraduate certificate18——
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate18——
Graphic Communications.Associate's17——
History.Associate's15——
Film/Video and Photographic Arts.Undergraduate certificate14——
Accounting and Related Services.Associate's13——
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Associate's12——
English Language and Literature, General.Associate's11——
Accounting and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate10——
Anthropology.Associate's9——
Area Studies.Associate's8——
Business/Commerce, General.Associate's6——
Computer Programming.Undergraduate certificate5——
Computer Programming.Associate's5——
Computer Software and Media Applications.Associate's5——
American Sign Language.Undergraduate certificate5——
Physical Science Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate5——
Business/Commerce, General.Undergraduate certificate5——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Berkeley City College

Berkeley City College is a mid-sized institution located in Berkeley, California, primarily awarding the associate degree. It enrolls roughly 4,456 undergraduate students in a city setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Social sciences, Business.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Berkeley City College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $9,096 per year, which is very affordable compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $1,258 for in-state students and $9,898 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $18,845 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 36.4%, a average completion outcome. 62.8% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $41,217 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Berkeley City College confers degrees and certificates across 19 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Social sciences, Business. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (61% of credentials), social sciences (22% of credentials), stem (9% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Berkeley, California (city), Berkeley City College draws students from across California and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Berkeley City College

Q.How much does Berkeley City College cost?

The average net price at Berkeley City College is $9,096 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $18,845.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Berkeley City College?

Berkeley City College has a 6-year graduation rate of 36.4% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Berkeley City College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Berkeley City College graduate earns $41,217 per year.

Q.What programs does Berkeley City College offer?

Berkeley City College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Social sciences, Business.

Q.What is tuition at Berkeley City College?

Published tuition is $1,258 in-state and $9,898 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Berkeley City College located?

Berkeley City College is located in Berkeley, California (ZIP 94704).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Berkeley City College at their official website.