Cape Fear Community Collegecollege in Wilmington, NC

Wilmington, North Carolina · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$9,610

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

34.5%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

9,764

In-state tuition

$2,748

Out-of-state tuition

$8,892

Cost of attendance

$14,740

Median earnings (10y)

$38,654

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
67.5%
Locale
City

Programs breakdown

17 program areas reported · Academic mix is led by humanities & arts (46%), trades & services (27%), health (15%).

  • STEM5%
  • Health15%
  • Business4%
  • Humanities & arts46%
  • Social sciences3%
  • Trades & services27%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

40 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's1,868$21,625$8,734
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.Undergraduate certificate233——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Undergraduate certificate156$43,874$16,042
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's144$59,686—
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate135——
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR).Undergraduate certificate127——
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection.Undergraduate certificate109——
Precision Metal Working.Undergraduate certificate98——
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Associate's85$49,484—
Accounting and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate65——
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Undergraduate certificate64——
Health and Medical Administrative Services.Undergraduate certificate60——
Legal Support Services.Undergraduate certificate58——
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection.Associate's52——
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Undergraduate certificate50——
Carpenters.Undergraduate certificate49——
Film/Video and Photographic Arts.Undergraduate certificate49——
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers.Undergraduate certificate47——
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Associate's47——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Undergraduate certificate46——
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Associate's43——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's40——
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Undergraduate certificate37——
Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business Services.Undergraduate certificate34——
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Undergraduate certificate34——
Marine Sciences.Associate's33——
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions.Undergraduate certificate31——
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions.Associate's31——
Plumbing and Related Water Supply Services.Undergraduate certificate29——
Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians.Associate's28——
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate28——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Associate's26——
Design and Applied Arts.Undergraduate certificate26——
Health and Medical Administrative Services.Associate's26——
Accounting and Related Services.Associate's22——
Engineering, General.Associate's20——
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Associate's19——
Culinary Arts and Related Services.Associate's18——
Architectural Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate18——
Quality Control and Safety Technologies/Technicians.Associate's18——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Cape Fear Community College

Cape Fear Community College is a large institution located in Wilmington, North Carolina, primarily awarding the associate degree. It enrolls roughly 9,764 undergraduate students in a city setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Health professions, Personal services.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Cape Fear Community College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $9,610 per year, which is very affordable compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $2,748 for in-state students and $8,892 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $14,740 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 34.5%, a average completion outcome. 67.5% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $38,654 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Cape Fear Community College confers degrees and certificates across 17 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Health professions, Personal services. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (46% of credentials), trades & services (27% of credentials), health (15% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Wilmington, North Carolina (city), Cape Fear Community College draws students from across North Carolina and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Cape Fear Community College

Q.How much does Cape Fear Community College cost?

The average net price at Cape Fear Community College is $9,610 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $14,740.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Cape Fear Community College?

Cape Fear Community College has a 6-year graduation rate of 34.5% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Cape Fear Community College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Cape Fear Community College graduate earns $38,654 per year.

Q.What programs does Cape Fear Community College offer?

Cape Fear Community College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Health professions, Personal services.

Q.What is tuition at Cape Fear Community College?

Published tuition is $2,748 in-state and $8,892 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Cape Fear Community College located?

Cape Fear Community College is located in Wilmington, North Carolina (ZIP 28401).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Cape Fear Community College at their official website.