Hartnell Collegecollege in Salinas, CA

Salinas, California · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$2,039

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

40.0%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

9,453

In-state tuition

$1,404

Out-of-state tuition

$10,374

Cost of attendance

$11,892

Median earnings (10y)

$44,316

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
73.4%
Locale
City

Programs breakdown

25 program areas reported · Heavily focused on humanities & arts (57% of credentials).

  • STEM8%
  • Health8%
  • Business6%
  • Humanities & arts57%
  • Social sciences11%
  • Trades & services10%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

40 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Undergraduate certificate1,554—$6,500
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's766—$5,500
Psychology, General.Associate's224——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's173——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's163——
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Undergraduate certificate96——
Sociology.Associate's90——
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Associate's86——
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's80——
Computer Programming.Associate's65——
Agricultural Business and Management.Associate's62——
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Associate's58——
Mathematics.Associate's56——
Agricultural Production Operations.Associate's52——
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General.Associate's48——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Associate's47——
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Associate's47——
Economics.Associate's46——
Biology, General.Associate's42——
Physics.Associate's40——
English Language and Literature, General.Associate's32——
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Associate's30——
Engineering, General.Associate's29——
Food Science and Technology.Undergraduate certificate28——
Engineering, General.Undergraduate certificate28——
Computer Science.Associate's26——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Associate's25——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Undergraduate certificate24——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate23——
Political Science and Government.Associate's19——
History.Associate's19——
Agricultural Business and Management.Undergraduate certificate18——
Communication and Media Studies.Associate's16——
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection.Associate's14——
Fine and Studio Arts.Associate's14——
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication.Associate's12——
Business Operations Support and Assistant Services.Undergraduate certificate12——
Chemistry.Associate's11——
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft.Associate's11——
Graphic Communications.Associate's10——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Hartnell College

Hartnell College is a large institution located in Salinas, California, primarily awarding the associate degree. It enrolls roughly 9,453 undergraduate students in a city setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Health professions, Business.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Hartnell College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $2,039 per year, which is very affordable compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $1,404 for in-state students and $10,374 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $11,892 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 40.0%, a average completion outcome. 73.4% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $44,316 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Hartnell College confers degrees and certificates across 25 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Health professions, Business. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (57% of credentials), social sciences (11% of credentials), trades & services (10% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Salinas, California (city), Hartnell College draws students from across California and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Hartnell College

Q.How much does Hartnell College cost?

The average net price at Hartnell College is $2,039 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $11,892.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Hartnell College?

Hartnell College has a 6-year graduation rate of 40.0% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Hartnell College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Hartnell College graduate earns $44,316 per year.

Q.What programs does Hartnell College offer?

Hartnell College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Health professions, Business.

Q.What is tuition at Hartnell College?

Published tuition is $1,404 in-state and $10,374 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Hartnell College located?

Hartnell College is located in Salinas, California (ZIP 93901).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Hartnell College at their official website.