Highline Collegecollege in Des Moines, WA

Des Moines, Washington · Public, 4-year

At a glance

Average net price

$9,879

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

35.5%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

3,838

In-state tuition

$4,772

Out-of-state tuition

$5,332

Cost of attendance

$18,812

Median earnings (10y)

$47,869

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
Not available
Locale
Suburb

Programs breakdown

16 program areas reported · Academic mix is led by humanities & arts (38%), health (22%), social sciences (17%).

  • STEM10%
  • Health22%
  • Business12%
  • Humanities & arts38%
  • Social sciences17%
  • Trades & services1%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

38 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's918$30,948$6,678
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's149$69,653$13,000
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Undergraduate certificate136——
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Undergraduate certificate111——
Business/Commerce, General.Associate's102——
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Associate's85$43,154$7,197
Physical Sciences, General.Associate's69——
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.Bachelor's58——
Hospitality Administration/Management.Associate's38——
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Associate's37——
Biology, General.Associate's37——
Health and Medical Administrative Services.Undergraduate certificate37——
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Bachelor's35——
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Bachelor's32——
Design and Applied Arts.Associate's32——
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.Associate's32——
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications.Associate's28——
Accounting and Related Services.Associate's25——
Hospitality Administration/Management.Undergraduate certificate24——
Social Work.Bachelor's21——
International Business.Bachelor's21——
Legal Support Services.Associate's19——
Design and Applied Arts.Bachelor's18——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's17——
Accounting and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate15——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Undergraduate certificate14——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's12——
Business Operations Support and Assistant Services.Associate's12——
Computer Programming.Associate's10——
Legal Support Services.Undergraduate certificate10——
Graphic Communications.Associate's9——
Human Resources Management and Services.Undergraduate certificate9——
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.Associate's8——
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other.Undergraduate certificate7——
Air Transportation.Undergraduate certificate6——
Health Aides/Attendants/Orderlies.Associate's6——
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations.Associate's6——
International Business.Associate's5——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Highline College

Highline College is a mid-sized institution located in Des Moines, Washington, primarily awarding the associate degree. It enrolls roughly 3,838 undergraduate students in a suburb setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Health professions, Education.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Highline College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $9,879 per year, which is very affordable compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $4,772 for in-state students and $5,332 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $18,812 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 35.5%, a average completion outcome. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $47,869 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Highline College confers degrees and certificates across 16 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Health professions, Education. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (38% of credentials), health (22% of credentials), social sciences (17% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Des Moines, Washington (suburb), Highline College draws students from across Washington and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Highline College

Q.How much does Highline College cost?

The average net price at Highline College is $9,879 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $18,812.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Highline College?

Highline College has a 6-year graduation rate of 35.5% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Highline College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Highline College graduate earns $47,869 per year.

Q.What programs does Highline College offer?

Highline College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Health professions, Education.

Q.What is tuition at Highline College?

Published tuition is $4,772 in-state and $5,332 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Highline College located?

Highline College is located in Des Moines, Washington (ZIP 98198).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Highline College at their official website.