Oakton Collegecollege in Des Plaines, IL

Des Plaines, Illinois · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$5,183

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

37.0%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

6,072

In-state tuition

$3,985

Out-of-state tuition

$12,462

Cost of attendance

$11,431

Median earnings (10y)

$47,852

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
69.0%
Locale
City

Programs breakdown

16 program areas reported · Academic mix is led by humanities & arts (49%), health (23%), trades & services (12%).

  • STEM7%
  • Health23%
  • Business6%
  • Humanities & arts49%
  • Social sciences3%
  • Trades & services12%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

40 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's1,040$20,570$5,500
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Undergraduate certificate940——
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Undergraduate certificate452——
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Undergraduate certificate236——
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's111$65,988$10,000
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate92——
Accounting and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate91——
Biological and Physical Sciences.Associate's88——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Undergraduate certificate70——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate66——
Information Science/Studies.Undergraduate certificate47——
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Undergraduate certificate46——
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Associate's45$52,362—
Alternative and Complementary Medical Support Services.Undergraduate certificate43——
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate36——
Alternative and Complementary Medicine and Medical Systems.Undergraduate certificate35——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's31$30,440—
Engineering, General.Associate's27——
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions.Undergraduate certificate25——
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate24——
Security Science and Technology.Undergraduate certificate23——
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate22——
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR).Undergraduate certificate22——
Health and Medical Administrative Services.Undergraduate certificate22——
Fire Protection.Undergraduate certificate21——
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Undergraduate certificate18——
Accounting and Related Services.Associate's17——
Computer Programming.Undergraduate certificate15——
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.Undergraduate certificate15——
Business Operations Support and Assistant Services.Undergraduate certificate15——
Data Processing.Undergraduate certificate13——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Undergraduate certificate13——
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions.Associate's13——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Associate's12——
Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate11——
Health Aides/Attendants/Orderlies.Undergraduate certificate11——
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate10——
Legal Support Services.Undergraduate certificate10——
Human Resources Management and Services.Undergraduate certificate9——
Marketing.Undergraduate certificate9——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Oakton College

Oakton College is a large institution located in Des Plaines, Illinois, primarily awarding the certificate. It enrolls roughly 6,072 undergraduate students in a city setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Health professions, Mechanic & repair.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Oakton College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $5,183 per year, which is very affordable compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $3,985 for in-state students and $12,462 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $11,431 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 37.0%, a average completion outcome. 69.0% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $47,852 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Oakton College confers degrees and certificates across 16 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Health professions, Mechanic & repair. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (49% of credentials), health (23% of credentials), trades & services (12% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Des Plaines, Illinois (city), Oakton College draws students from across Illinois and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Oakton College

Q.How much does Oakton College cost?

The average net price at Oakton College is $5,183 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $11,431.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Oakton College?

Oakton College has a 6-year graduation rate of 37.0% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Oakton College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Oakton College graduate earns $47,852 per year.

Q.What programs does Oakton College offer?

Oakton College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Health professions, Mechanic & repair.

Q.What is tuition at Oakton College?

Published tuition is $3,985 in-state and $12,462 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Oakton College located?

Oakton College is located in Des Plaines, Illinois (ZIP 60016).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Oakton College at their official website.