San Jose City Collegecollege in San Jose, CA

San Jose, California · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$16,959

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

34.1%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

7,105

In-state tuition

$1,366

Out-of-state tuition

$11,922

Cost of attendance

$26,081

Median earnings (10y)

$46,215

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
65.1%
Locale
City

Programs breakdown

28 program areas reported · Academic mix is led by humanities & arts (38%), trades & services (18%), social sciences (14%).

  • STEM9%
  • Health11%
  • Business10%
  • Humanities & arts38%
  • Social sciences14%
  • Trades & services18%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

40 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's494$37,443—
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Undergraduate certificate409——
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.Undergraduate certificate187——
Biological and Physical Sciences.Associate's187——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's157——
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Undergraduate certificate105——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate105——
Psychology, General.Associate's100——
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Undergraduate certificate100——
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection.Undergraduate certificate85——
Environmental Control Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate70——
Sociology.Associate's68——
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Associate's66——
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions.Undergraduate certificate61——
Computer Programming.Undergraduate certificate49——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's46——
Economics.Associate's45——
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.Undergraduate certificate39——
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications.Undergraduate certificate37——
Mathematics.Associate's37——
Special Education and Teaching.Associate's34——
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies.Associate's33——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Associate's30——
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications.Associate's29——
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations.Undergraduate certificate29——
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations.Undergraduate certificate28——
Communication and Media Studies.Associate's27——
Computer Programming.Associate's27——
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.Associate's23——
Environmental Control Technologies/Technicians.Associate's23——
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Associate's23——
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection.Associate's23——
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions.Associate's22$29,671—
Accounting and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate22——
Fine and Studio Arts.Associate's20——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Undergraduate certificate17——
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate15——
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.Undergraduate certificate14——
Political Science and Government.Associate's14——
Precision Metal Working.Undergraduate certificate14——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About San Jose City College

San Jose City College is a large institution located in San Jose, California, primarily awarding the associate degree. It enrolls roughly 7,105 undergraduate students in a city setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Health professions, Business.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at San Jose City College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $16,959 per year, which is moderately priced compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $1,366 for in-state students and $11,922 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $26,081 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 34.1%, a average completion outcome. 65.1% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $46,215 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

San Jose City College confers degrees and certificates across 28 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Health professions, Business. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (38% of credentials), trades & services (18% of credentials), social sciences (14% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in San Jose, California (city), San Jose City College draws students from across California and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about San Jose City College

Q.How much does San Jose City College cost?

The average net price at San Jose City College is $16,959 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $26,081.

Q.What is the graduation rate at San Jose City College?

San Jose City College has a 6-year graduation rate of 34.1% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do San Jose City College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median San Jose City College graduate earns $46,215 per year.

Q.What programs does San Jose City College offer?

San Jose City College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Health professions, Business.

Q.What is tuition at San Jose City College?

Published tuition is $1,366 in-state and $11,922 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is San Jose City College located?

San Jose City College is located in San Jose, California (ZIP 95128).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with San Jose City College at their official website.