Santa Monica Collegecollege in Santa Monica, CA

Santa Monica, California · Public, 4-year

At a glance

Average net price

$2,779

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

36.3%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

21,440

In-state tuition

$1,156

Out-of-state tuition

$10,708

Cost of attendance

$11,162

Median earnings (10y)

$42,193

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
0.0%
Locale
City

Programs breakdown

24 program areas reported · Heavily focused on humanities & arts (81% of credentials).

  • STEM2%
  • Health1%
  • Business6%
  • Humanities & arts81%
  • Social sciences7%
  • Trades & services4%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

40 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Undergraduate certificate5,900——
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's4,396——
Biological and Physical Sciences.Associate's765——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's703——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate502——
Psychology, General.Associate's372——
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.Undergraduate certificate338——
Accounting and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate314——
Communication and Media Studies.Associate's295——
Political Science and Government.Associate's277——
Fine and Studio Arts.Associate's157——
Design and Applied Arts.Undergraduate certificate151——
Sociology.Associate's144——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Associate's143——
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations.Undergraduate certificate141——
Graphic Communications.Undergraduate certificate134——
Film/Video and Photographic Arts.Associate's125——
Economics.Associate's117——
Accounting and Related Services.Associate's104——
Design and Applied Arts.Associate's98——
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's98$70,951—
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's89——
Computer Programming.Associate's78——
Computer Science.Undergraduate certificate75——
Computer Science.Associate's75——
History.Associate's74——
Special Education and Teaching.Associate's65——
Political Science and Government.Undergraduate certificate63——
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft.Associate's62——
Mathematics.Associate's59——
Computer Programming.Undergraduate certificate51——
Visual and Performing Arts, Other.Bachelor's48——
Anthropology.Associate's47——
Health and Medical Administrative Services.Undergraduate certificate47——
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Associate's45——
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations.Undergraduate certificate45——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Undergraduate certificate43——
Visual and Performing Arts, General.Associate's42——
Film/Video and Photographic Arts.Undergraduate certificate40——
Graphic Communications.Associate's34——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Santa Monica College

Santa Monica College is a very large institution located in Santa Monica, California, primarily awarding the associate degree. It enrolls roughly 21,440 undergraduate students in a city setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Business, Visual & performing arts.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Santa Monica College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $2,779 per year, which is very affordable compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $1,156 for in-state students and $10,708 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $11,162 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 36.3%, a average completion outcome. 0.0% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $42,193 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Santa Monica College confers degrees and certificates across 24 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Business, Visual & performing arts. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (81% of credentials), social sciences (7% of credentials), business (6% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Santa Monica, California (city), Santa Monica College draws students from across California and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Santa Monica College

Q.How much does Santa Monica College cost?

The average net price at Santa Monica College is $2,779 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $11,162.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Santa Monica College?

Santa Monica College has a 6-year graduation rate of 36.3% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Santa Monica College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Santa Monica College graduate earns $42,193 per year.

Q.What programs does Santa Monica College offer?

Santa Monica College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Business, Visual & performing arts.

Q.What is tuition at Santa Monica College?

Published tuition is $1,156 in-state and $10,708 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Santa Monica College located?

Santa Monica College is located in Santa Monica, California (ZIP 90405).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Santa Monica College at their official website.