Southwest Virginia Community Collegecollege in Cedar Bluff, VA

Cedar Bluff, Virginia · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$6,005

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

46.1%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

1,651

In-state tuition

$5,075

Out-of-state tuition

$11,513

Cost of attendance

$13,775

Median earnings (10y)

$34,221

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
61.2%
Locale
Rural

Programs breakdown

14 program areas reported · Academic mix is led by humanities & arts (33%), health (30%), trades & services (13%).

  • STEM12%
  • Health30%
  • Business5%
  • Humanities & arts33%
  • Social sciences7%
  • Trades & services13%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

27 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's333$13,601$5,500
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Undergraduate certificate133——
Precision Metal Working.Undergraduate certificate105——
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's101$50,932—
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate58——
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate50——
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Associate's47——
Health and Medical Administrative Services.Undergraduate certificate39——
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Undergraduate certificate37——
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR).Undergraduate certificate32——
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate25——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Undergraduate certificate25——
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Associate's24$26,400—
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Associate's23——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate20——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's20——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Undergraduate certificate18——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's18$26,609—
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.Associate's17——
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Undergraduate certificate14——
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions.Undergraduate certificate12——
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Associate's9——
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.Undergraduate certificate9$22,336—
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Associate's7——
Accounting and Related Services.Associate's6——
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Undergraduate certificate5——
Legal Support Services.Undergraduate certificate5——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Southwest Virginia Community College

Southwest Virginia Community College is a mid-sized institution located in Cedar Bluff, Virginia, primarily awarding the certificate. It enrolls roughly 1,651 undergraduate students in a rural setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Health professions, Engineering tech.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Southwest Virginia Community College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $6,005 per year, which is very affordable compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $5,075 for in-state students and $11,513 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $13,775 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 46.1%, a average completion outcome. 61.2% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $34,221 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Southwest Virginia Community College confers degrees and certificates across 14 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Health professions, Engineering tech. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (33% of credentials), health (30% of credentials), trades & services (13% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Cedar Bluff, Virginia (rural), Southwest Virginia Community College draws students from across Virginia and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Southwest Virginia Community College

Q.How much does Southwest Virginia Community College cost?

The average net price at Southwest Virginia Community College is $6,005 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $13,775.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Southwest Virginia Community College?

Southwest Virginia Community College has a 6-year graduation rate of 46.1% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Southwest Virginia Community College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Southwest Virginia Community College graduate earns $34,221 per year.

Q.What programs does Southwest Virginia Community College offer?

Southwest Virginia Community College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Health professions, Engineering tech.

Q.What is tuition at Southwest Virginia Community College?

Published tuition is $5,075 in-state and $11,513 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Southwest Virginia Community College located?

Southwest Virginia Community College is located in Cedar Bluff, Virginia (ZIP 24609).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Southwest Virginia Community College at their official website.