Surry Community Collegecollege in Dobson, NC

Dobson, North Carolina · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$4,961

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

6.4%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

1,475

In-state tuition

$2,668

Out-of-state tuition

$8,812

Cost of attendance

$14,271

Median earnings (10y)

$36,012

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
73.1%
Locale
Rural

Programs breakdown

15 program areas reported · Academic mix is led by humanities & arts (29%), business (23%), trades & services (20%).

  • STEM9%
  • Health13%
  • Business23%
  • Humanities & arts29%
  • Social sciences5%
  • Trades & services20%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

40 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's450$20,508$5,500
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Undergraduate certificate130——
Precision Metal Working.Undergraduate certificate80——
Health and Medical Administrative Services.Undergraduate certificate70——
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's65$52,951$13,574
Accounting and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate65——
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Undergraduate certificate59——
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services.Undergraduate certificate53——
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate43——
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Undergraduate certificate40——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's38$30,391—
Accounting and Related Services.Associate's35——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate34——
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers.Undergraduate certificate33——
Computer Software and Media Applications.Undergraduate certificate32——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Undergraduate certificate30——
Health and Medical Administrative Services.Associate's30$24,886—
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Undergraduate certificate28——
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Associate's23——
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Associate's22——
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Associate's22$32,786—
Computer Software and Media Applications.Associate's20——
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR).Undergraduate certificate19——
Precision Metal Working.Associate's18——
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Associate's17——
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.Undergraduate certificate14——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate14——
Legal Support Services.Undergraduate certificate14——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's14$31,389—
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.Associate's13——
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers.Associate's13——
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Undergraduate certificate13——
Carpenters.Undergraduate certificate12——
Legal Support Services.Associate's11——
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR).Associate's11——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Associate's10——
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Associate's10——
Agricultural Production Operations.Undergraduate certificate9——
Educational Administration and Supervision.Undergraduate certificate9——
Food Science and Technology.Undergraduate certificate8——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Surry Community College

Surry Community College is a mid-sized institution located in Dobson, North Carolina, primarily awarding the certificate. It enrolls roughly 1,475 undergraduate students in a rural setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Business, Health professions.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Surry Community College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $4,961 per year, which is very affordable compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $2,668 for in-state students and $8,812 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $14,271 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 6.4%, a below-average completion outcome. 73.1% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $36,012 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Surry Community College confers degrees and certificates across 15 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Business, Health professions. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (29% of credentials), business (23% of credentials), trades & services (20% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Dobson, North Carolina (rural), Surry Community College draws students from across North Carolina and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Surry Community College

Q.How much does Surry Community College cost?

The average net price at Surry Community College is $4,961 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $14,271.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Surry Community College?

Surry Community College has a 6-year graduation rate of 6.4% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Surry Community College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Surry Community College graduate earns $36,012 per year.

Q.What programs does Surry Community College offer?

Surry Community College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Business, Health professions.

Q.What is tuition at Surry Community College?

Published tuition is $2,668 in-state and $8,812 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Surry Community College located?

Surry Community College is located in Dobson, North Carolina (ZIP 27017).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Surry Community College at their official website.