Butte Collegecollege in Oroville, CA

Oroville, California · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$5,520

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

45.3%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

8,890

In-state tuition

$1,356

Out-of-state tuition

$9,276

Cost of attendance

$15,509

Median earnings (10y)

$41,810

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
68.4%
Locale
Rural

Programs breakdown

30 program areas reported · Academic mix is led by trades & services (32%), social sciences (23%), health (22%).

  • STEM8%
  • Health22%
  • Business9%
  • Humanities & arts7%
  • Social sciences23%
  • Trades & services32%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

40 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Social Sciences, General.Associate's608$24,627$9,036
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Undergraduate certificate308——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Undergraduate certificate246—$15,414
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Undergraduate certificate245——
Precision Metal Working.Undergraduate certificate242——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate237——
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's235$88,944$15,375
Psychology, General.Associate's199——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's190——
Fire Protection.Undergraduate certificate170——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's131——
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.Undergraduate certificate112——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Associate's83——
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate73——
Environmental Control Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate72——
Health and Medical Administrative Services.Undergraduate certificate71——
Ground Transportation.Undergraduate certificate66——
Accounting and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate64——
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Associate's54—$13,382
Communication and Media Studies.Associate's53——
Special Education and Teaching.Associate's51——
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's51——
Agricultural Business and Management.Associate's47——
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Associate's44——
Fire Protection.Associate's42——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate41——
English Language and Literature, General.Associate's38——
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Associate's38——
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Undergraduate certificate36——
Computer Science.Associate's36——
Mathematics.Associate's35——
Biology, General.Associate's33——
Fine and Studio Arts.Associate's31——
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate30——
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication.Undergraduate certificate27——
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication.Associate's22——
Anthropology.Associate's21——
Sociology.Associate's21——
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection.Undergraduate certificate21——
Accounting and Related Services.Associate's21——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Butte College

Butte College is a large institution located in Oroville, California, primarily awarding the certificate. It enrolls roughly 8,890 undergraduate students in a rural setting. The most popular fields of study include Health professions, Social sciences, Homeland security & law enforcement.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Butte College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $5,520 per year, which is very affordable compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $1,356 for in-state students and $9,276 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $15,509 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 45.3%, a average completion outcome. 68.4% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $41,810 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Butte College confers degrees and certificates across 30 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Health professions, Social sciences, Homeland security & law enforcement. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by trades & services (32% of credentials), social sciences (23% of credentials), health (22% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Oroville, California (rural), Butte College draws students from across California and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Butte College

Q.How much does Butte College cost?

The average net price at Butte College is $5,520 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $15,509.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Butte College?

Butte College has a 6-year graduation rate of 45.3% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Butte College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Butte College graduate earns $41,810 per year.

Q.What programs does Butte College offer?

Butte College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Health professions, Social sciences, Homeland security & law enforcement.

Q.What is tuition at Butte College?

Published tuition is $1,356 in-state and $9,276 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Butte College located?

Butte College is located in Oroville, California (ZIP 95965).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Butte College at their official website.