Catawba Valley Community Collegecollege in Hickory, NC

Hickory, North Carolina · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$10,528

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

35.2%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

2,741

In-state tuition

$2,427

Out-of-state tuition

$7,803

Cost of attendance

$20,446

Median earnings (10y)

$36,977

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
64.9%
Locale
City

Programs breakdown

17 program areas reported · Academic mix is led by humanities & arts (39%), trades & services (26%), health (14%).

  • STEM9%
  • Health14%
  • Business11%
  • Humanities & arts39%
  • Social sciences1%
  • Trades & services26%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

40 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's1,049$25,381$6,429
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Undergraduate certificate294—$8,573
Health and Medical Administrative Services.Undergraduate certificate150——
Precision Metal Working.Undergraduate certificate148——
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's143—$17,895
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Undergraduate certificate134——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate90——
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Associate's86$46,010$7,125
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers.Undergraduate certificate79——
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate73——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's69$32,107—
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Undergraduate certificate68——
Accounting and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate63——
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.Undergraduate certificate44——
Precision Metal Working.Associate's43——
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate42——
Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate41——
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate40——
Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate39——
Health and Medical Administrative Services.Associate's39$20,861$9,187
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions.Associate's32——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate27——
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Associate's26——
Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business Services.Associate's22——
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Undergraduate certificate22——
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Associate's20——
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR).Undergraduate certificate20——
Accounting and Related Services.Associate's20——
Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business Services.Undergraduate certificate19——
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Associate's18——
Design and Applied Arts.Associate's18——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Associate's16——
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Undergraduate certificate16$31,634—
Security Science and Technology.Associate's15——
Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians.Associate's13——
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services, Other.Associate's11——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's9——
Fire Protection.Associate's9——
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations.Undergraduate certificate9——
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians.Associate's8——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Catawba Valley Community College

Catawba Valley Community College is a mid-sized institution located in Hickory, North Carolina, primarily awarding the associate degree. It enrolls roughly 2,741 undergraduate students in a city setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Health professions, Business.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Catawba Valley Community College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $10,528 per year, which is moderately priced compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $2,427 for in-state students and $7,803 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $20,446 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 35.2%, a average completion outcome. 64.9% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $36,977 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Catawba Valley Community College confers degrees and certificates across 17 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Health professions, Business. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (39% of credentials), trades & services (26% of credentials), health (14% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Hickory, North Carolina (city), Catawba Valley Community College draws students from across North Carolina and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Catawba Valley Community College

Q.How much does Catawba Valley Community College cost?

The average net price at Catawba Valley Community College is $10,528 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $20,446.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Catawba Valley Community College?

Catawba Valley Community College has a 6-year graduation rate of 35.2% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Catawba Valley Community College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Catawba Valley Community College graduate earns $36,977 per year.

Q.What programs does Catawba Valley Community College offer?

Catawba Valley Community College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Health professions, Business.

Q.What is tuition at Catawba Valley Community College?

Published tuition is $2,427 in-state and $7,803 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Catawba Valley Community College located?

Catawba Valley Community College is located in Hickory, North Carolina (ZIP 28602).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Catawba Valley Community College at their official website.