Elgin Community Collegecollege in Elgin, IL

Elgin, Illinois · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$6,026

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

41.1%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

6,648

In-state tuition

$3,252

Out-of-state tuition

$9,516

Cost of attendance

$10,408

Median earnings (10y)

$45,516

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
76.6%
Locale
City

Programs breakdown

19 program areas reported · Academic mix is led by humanities & arts (47%), trades & services (23%), health (21%).

  • STEM6%
  • Health21%
  • Business2%
  • Humanities & arts47%
  • Social sciences2%
  • Trades & services23%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

40 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's1,101$26,806$8,380
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Undergraduate certificate762——
Biological and Physical Sciences.Associate's370$36,820—
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate228——
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's142$53,782$10,793
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR).Undergraduate certificate132——
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Undergraduate certificate107——
Precision Metal Working.Undergraduate certificate100——
Culinary Arts and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate87——
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Undergraduate certificate86$52,333—
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Undergraduate certificate75——
Ground Transportation.Undergraduate certificate73$40,454$4,008
Fire Protection.Undergraduate certificate67——
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate65——
Engineering, General.Associate's61——
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions.Undergraduate certificate60——
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Undergraduate certificate42——
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Associate's41——
Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate40——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's38——
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions.Undergraduate certificate35——
Legal Support Services.Undergraduate certificate34——
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.Undergraduate certificate33——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Undergraduate certificate31——
Culinary Arts and Related Services.Associate's29——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Associate's27$31,850—
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Associate's27$44,532—
Precision Metal Working.Associate's25——
Human Services, General.Associate's24——
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions.Associate's24——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's23——
Accounting and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate23——
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Associate's20——
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Associate's20——
Fire Protection.Associate's20——
Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate19——
Heavy/Industrial Equipment Maintenance Technologies/Technicians.Associate's17——
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Associate's16——
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications.Undergraduate certificate15——
Somatic Bodywork and Related Therapeutic Services.Undergraduate certificate14——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Elgin Community College

Elgin Community College is a large institution located in Elgin, Illinois, primarily awarding the certificate. It enrolls roughly 6,648 undergraduate students in a city setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Health professions, Mechanic & repair.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Elgin Community College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $6,026 per year, which is very affordable compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $3,252 for in-state students and $9,516 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $10,408 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 41.1%, a average completion outcome. 76.6% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $45,516 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Elgin Community College confers degrees and certificates across 19 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Health professions, Mechanic & repair. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (47% of credentials), trades & services (23% of credentials), health (21% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Elgin, Illinois (city), Elgin Community College draws students from across Illinois and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Elgin Community College

Q.How much does Elgin Community College cost?

The average net price at Elgin Community College is $6,026 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $10,408.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Elgin Community College?

Elgin Community College has a 6-year graduation rate of 41.1% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Elgin Community College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Elgin Community College graduate earns $45,516 per year.

Q.What programs does Elgin Community College offer?

Elgin Community College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Health professions, Mechanic & repair.

Q.What is tuition at Elgin Community College?

Published tuition is $3,252 in-state and $9,516 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Elgin Community College located?

Elgin Community College is located in Elgin, Illinois (ZIP 60123).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Elgin Community College at their official website.