Iowa Western Community Collegecollege in Council Bluffs, IA

Council Bluffs, Iowa · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$14,629

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

40.0%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

2,916

In-state tuition

$6,930

Out-of-state tuition

$7,080

Cost of attendance

$18,978

Median earnings (10y)

$42,793

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
57.0%
Locale
Suburb

Programs breakdown

24 program areas reported · Academic mix is led by trades & services (28%), health (24%), humanities & arts (19%).

  • STEM13%
  • Health24%
  • Business9%
  • Humanities & arts19%
  • Social sciences7%
  • Trades & services28%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

40 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's712$28,250$11,193
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Undergraduate certificate254—$18,000
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's225$53,259$27,938
Precision Metal Working.Undergraduate certificate166—$5,500
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate97—$7,110
Construction Trades, General.Undergraduate certificate92——
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate58——
Psychology, General.Associate's56——
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR).Undergraduate certificate55——
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers.Undergraduate certificate54——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's52——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate51——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Associate's51$41,886$13,000
Culinary Arts and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate41——
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Associate's40——
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.Undergraduate certificate37——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Undergraduate certificate35——
Agricultural Business and Management.Undergraduate certificate34——
Plumbing and Related Water Supply Services.Undergraduate certificate34——
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions.Associate's34$56,371$26,481
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Associate's33——
Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians.Associate's29——
Computer Programming.Undergraduate certificate29——
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Undergraduate certificate29——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's28——
Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians.Associate's27$25,448$12,000
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions.Undergraduate certificate24——
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Associate's23$37,176—
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate22——
Computer Software and Media Applications.Undergraduate certificate20——
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications.Undergraduate certificate19——
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate19——
Construction Management.Undergraduate certificate19——
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications.Associate's16——
Construction Management.Associate's16——
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Associate's15——
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Associate's15——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Associate's15——
Agricultural Business and Management.Associate's14——
Communication and Media Studies.Associate's11——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Iowa Western Community College

Iowa Western Community College is a mid-sized institution located in Council Bluffs, Iowa, primarily awarding the certificate. It enrolls roughly 2,916 undergraduate students in a suburb setting. The most popular fields of study include Health professions, Liberal arts, Business.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Iowa Western Community College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $14,629 per year, which is moderately priced compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $6,930 for in-state students and $7,080 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $18,978 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 40.0%, a average completion outcome. 57.0% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $42,793 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Iowa Western Community College confers degrees and certificates across 24 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Health professions, Liberal arts, Business. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by trades & services (28% of credentials), health (24% of credentials), humanities & arts (19% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Council Bluffs, Iowa (suburb), Iowa Western Community College draws students from across Iowa and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Iowa Western Community College

Q.How much does Iowa Western Community College cost?

The average net price at Iowa Western Community College is $14,629 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $18,978.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Iowa Western Community College?

Iowa Western Community College has a 6-year graduation rate of 40.0% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Iowa Western Community College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Iowa Western Community College graduate earns $42,793 per year.

Q.What programs does Iowa Western Community College offer?

Iowa Western Community College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Health professions, Liberal arts, Business.

Q.What is tuition at Iowa Western Community College?

Published tuition is $6,930 in-state and $7,080 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Iowa Western Community College located?

Iowa Western Community College is located in Council Bluffs, Iowa (ZIP 51503).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Iowa Western Community College at their official website.