Mountain Empire Community Collegecollege in Big Stone Gap, VA

Big Stone Gap, Virginia · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$8,852

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

48.0%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

1,282

In-state tuition

$5,007

Out-of-state tuition

$11,445

Cost of attendance

$15,605

Median earnings (10y)

$32,622

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
64.3%
Locale
Town

Programs breakdown

13 program areas reported · Academic mix is led by health (30%), humanities & arts (29%), stem (17%).

  • STEM17%
  • Health30%
  • Business4%
  • Humanities & arts29%
  • Social sciences4%
  • Trades & services16%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

32 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Undergraduate certificate295——
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Undergraduate certificate253——
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's245—$9,384
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's102$49,999$7,475
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Undergraduate certificate98——
Construction Trades, General.Undergraduate certificate91——
Precision Metal Working.Undergraduate certificate77——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Undergraduate certificate52——
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions.Undergraduate certificate41——
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate40——
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Undergraduate certificate39——
Environmental Control Technologies/Technicians.Associate's38——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate30——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's27$30,449—
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions.Undergraduate certificate27——
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Associate's26$39,541—
Environmental Control Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate24——
Natural Resources Conservation and Research.Undergraduate certificate22——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Undergraduate certificate22——
Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician (HAC, HACR, HVAC, HVACR).Undergraduate certificate22——
Natural Resources Conservation and Research.Associate's20——
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians.Associate's20$31,719—
Health and Medical Administrative Services.Undergraduate certificate20——
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate19——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's19——
Business Operations Support and Assistant Services.Associate's19$24,047—
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Associate's14——
Health and Medical Administrative Services.Associate's13——
Surveying Engineering.Undergraduate certificate10——
Mining and Petroleum Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate9——
Real Estate.Undergraduate certificate7——
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.Undergraduate certificate—$18,788$10,250

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Mountain Empire Community College

Mountain Empire Community College is a mid-sized institution located in Big Stone Gap, Virginia, primarily awarding the certificate. It enrolls roughly 1,282 undergraduate students in a town setting. The most popular fields of study include Health professions, Liberal arts, Engineering tech.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Mountain Empire Community College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $8,852 per year, which is very affordable compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $5,007 for in-state students and $11,445 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $15,605 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 48.0%, a average completion outcome. 64.3% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $32,622 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Mountain Empire Community College confers degrees and certificates across 13 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Health professions, Liberal arts, Engineering tech. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by health (30% of credentials), humanities & arts (29% of credentials), stem (17% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Big Stone Gap, Virginia (town), Mountain Empire Community College draws students from across Virginia and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Mountain Empire Community College

Q.How much does Mountain Empire Community College cost?

The average net price at Mountain Empire Community College is $8,852 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $15,605.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Mountain Empire Community College?

Mountain Empire Community College has a 6-year graduation rate of 48.0% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Mountain Empire Community College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Mountain Empire Community College graduate earns $32,622 per year.

Q.What programs does Mountain Empire Community College offer?

Mountain Empire Community College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Health professions, Liberal arts, Engineering tech.

Q.What is tuition at Mountain Empire Community College?

Published tuition is $5,007 in-state and $11,445 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Mountain Empire Community College located?

Mountain Empire Community College is located in Big Stone Gap, Virginia (ZIP 24219).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Mountain Empire Community College at their official website.