Rio Hondo Collegecollege in Whittier, CA

Whittier, California · Public, 4-year

At a glance

Average net price

$14,379

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

24.5%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

15,684

In-state tuition

$1,388

Out-of-state tuition

$9,884

Cost of attendance

$21,391

Median earnings (10y)

$44,950

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
100.0%
Locale
Rural

Programs breakdown

29 program areas reported · Heavily focused on humanities & arts (55% of credentials).

  • STEM5%
  • Health2%
  • Business7%
  • Humanities & arts55%
  • Social sciences13%
  • Trades & services17%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

40 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Undergraduate certificate1,718——
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's1,245——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's535——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Undergraduate certificate430——
Fire Protection.Undergraduate certificate325——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's301——
Psychology, General.Associate's264——
Biological and Physical Sciences.Associate's252——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Associate's245——
Fire Protection.Associate's171——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate166——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate155——
Sociology.Associate's145——
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's112$76,455$15,510
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate83——
Fine and Studio Arts.Associate's55——
Design and Applied Arts.Undergraduate certificate52——
Mathematics.Associate's49——
Social Sciences, General.Associate's47——
Political Science and Government.Associate's47——
Communication and Media Studies.Associate's44——
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Associate's43——
English Language and Literature, General.Associate's38——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Associate's36——
Human Services, General.Associate's35——
Biology, General.Associate's33——
Accounting and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate33——
History.Associate's33——
Journalism.Associate's30——
Physics.Associate's29——
Geography and Cartography.Undergraduate certificate26——
Graphic Communications.Associate's25——
Engineering, General.Associate's25——
Security Science and Technology.Undergraduate certificate25——
Design and Applied Arts.Associate's25——
Education, Other.Undergraduate certificate24——
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.Undergraduate certificate22——
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.Associate's22——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Bachelor's21——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Undergraduate certificate21——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Rio Hondo College

Rio Hondo College is a very large institution located in Whittier, California, primarily awarding the associate degree. It enrolls roughly 15,684 undergraduate students in a rural setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Homeland security & law enforcement, Business.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Rio Hondo College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $14,379 per year, which is moderately priced compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $1,388 for in-state students and $9,884 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $21,391 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 24.5%, a below-average completion outcome. 100.0% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $44,950 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Rio Hondo College confers degrees and certificates across 29 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Homeland security & law enforcement, Business. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (55% of credentials), trades & services (17% of credentials), social sciences (13% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Whittier, California (rural), Rio Hondo College draws students from across California and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Rio Hondo College

Q.How much does Rio Hondo College cost?

The average net price at Rio Hondo College is $14,379 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $21,391.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Rio Hondo College?

Rio Hondo College has a 6-year graduation rate of 24.5% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Rio Hondo College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Rio Hondo College graduate earns $44,950 per year.

Q.What programs does Rio Hondo College offer?

Rio Hondo College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Homeland security & law enforcement, Business.

Q.What is tuition at Rio Hondo College?

Published tuition is $1,388 in-state and $9,884 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Rio Hondo College located?

Rio Hondo College is located in Whittier, California (ZIP 90601).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Rio Hondo College at their official website.