Santa Barbara City Collegecollege in Santa Barbara, CA

Santa Barbara, California · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$11,315

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

33.6%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

9,889

In-state tuition

$1,240

Out-of-state tuition

$10,432

Cost of attendance

$20,394

Median earnings (10y)

$47,647

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
65.0%
Locale
City

Programs breakdown

29 program areas reported · Heavily focused on humanities & arts (63% of credentials).

  • STEM7%
  • Health4%
  • Business6%
  • Humanities & arts63%
  • Social sciences14%
  • Trades & services5%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

40 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Undergraduate certificate1,933——
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's1,499——
Biological and Physical Sciences.Associate's748——
Communication and Media Studies.Associate's329——
Economics.Associate's323——
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's265——
Psychology, General.Associate's238——
Sociology.Associate's154——
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's145$80,727$21,037
Health and Medical Administrative Services.Associate's131$39,332$23,505
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's128——
Biology, General.Associate's113——
Mathematics.Associate's103——
Health and Medical Administrative Services.Undergraduate certificate97$40,140$18,728
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate78——
Political Science and Government.Associate's67——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Associate's58——
Computer Science.Associate's55——
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Undergraduate certificate55——
Accounting and Related Services.Associate's47——
History.Associate's46——
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Associate's43——
Chemistry.Associate's43——
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Associate's42——
Physics.Associate's41——
Anthropology.Associate's39——
English Language and Literature, General.Associate's33——
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Associate's33——
Engineering, General.Associate's30——
Philosophy.Associate's26——
Design and Applied Arts.Associate's26——
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.Undergraduate certificate25——
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations.Associate's24——
Design and Applied Arts.Undergraduate certificate23——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate22——
Film/Video and Photographic Arts.Associate's22——
Geography and Cartography.Associate's21——
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication.Associate's19——
Graphic Communications.Associate's18——
Fine and Studio Arts.Associate's18——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Santa Barbara City College

Santa Barbara City College is a large institution located in Santa Barbara, California, primarily awarding the associate degree. It enrolls roughly 9,889 undergraduate students in a city setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Social sciences, Interdisciplinary.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Santa Barbara City College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $11,315 per year, which is moderately priced compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $1,240 for in-state students and $10,432 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $20,394 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 33.6%, a average completion outcome. 65.0% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $47,647 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Santa Barbara City College confers degrees and certificates across 29 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Social sciences, Interdisciplinary. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (63% of credentials), social sciences (14% of credentials), stem (7% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Santa Barbara, California (city), Santa Barbara City College draws students from across California and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Santa Barbara City College

Q.How much does Santa Barbara City College cost?

The average net price at Santa Barbara City College is $11,315 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $20,394.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Santa Barbara City College?

Santa Barbara City College has a 6-year graduation rate of 33.6% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Santa Barbara City College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Santa Barbara City College graduate earns $47,647 per year.

Q.What programs does Santa Barbara City College offer?

Santa Barbara City College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Social sciences, Interdisciplinary.

Q.What is tuition at Santa Barbara City College?

Published tuition is $1,240 in-state and $10,432 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Santa Barbara City College located?

Santa Barbara City College is located in Santa Barbara, California (ZIP 93109).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Santa Barbara City College at their official website.