SOWELA Technical Community Collegecollege in Lake Charles, LA

Lake Charles, Louisiana · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$7,525

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

42.7%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

2,966

In-state tuition

$4,305

Out-of-state tuition

$4,305

Cost of attendance

$15,578

Median earnings (10y)

$32,303

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
59.4%
Locale
City

Programs breakdown

13 program areas reported · Academic mix is led by stem (37%), trades & services (36%), business (13%).

  • STEM37%
  • Health7%
  • Business13%
  • Humanities & arts7%
  • Trades & services36%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

39 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers.Undergraduate certificate448——
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate390——
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate368——
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Undergraduate certificate338——
Business Operations Support and Assistant Services.Undergraduate certificate300——
Culinary Arts and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate207——
Precision Metal Working.Undergraduate certificate198——
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians.Associate's190$74,657$7,457
Business/Commerce, General.Undergraduate certificate161——
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Associate's157$53,999$8,500
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers.Associate's150——
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Undergraduate certificate121——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate117——
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Undergraduate certificate99$37,040$8,000
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Undergraduate certificate88——
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's81—$5,606
Accounting and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate80——
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate79——
Business/Commerce, General.Associate's69——
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Associate's54——
Physical Science Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate46——
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's43——
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Associate's40$23,827—
Plumbing and Related Water Supply Services.Undergraduate certificate34——
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Associate's33——
Design and Applied Arts.Undergraduate certificate30——
Carpenters.Undergraduate certificate26——
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Associate's23$37,241—
Accounting and Related Services.Associate's23——
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Associate's20——
Design and Applied Arts.Associate's19——
Forestry.Undergraduate certificate17——
Culinary Arts and Related Services.Associate's16——
Physical Science Technologies/Technicians.Associate's15——
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection.Undergraduate certificate12——
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions.Undergraduate certificate9——
Business Operations Support and Assistant Services.Associate's8$22,903—
Precision Metal Working.Associate's7——
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/Technicians.Associate's5——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About SOWELA Technical Community College

SOWELA Technical Community College is a mid-sized institution located in Lake Charles, Louisiana, primarily awarding the certificate. It enrolls roughly 2,966 undergraduate students in a city setting. The most popular fields of study include Engineering tech, Construction trades, Business.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at SOWELA Technical Community College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $7,525 per year, which is very affordable compared to other U.S. institutions. Published tuition is $4,305 per year before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $15,578 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 42.7%, a average completion outcome. 59.4% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $32,303 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

SOWELA Technical Community College confers degrees and certificates across 13 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Engineering tech, Construction trades, Business. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by stem (37% of credentials), trades & services (36% of credentials), business (13% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Lake Charles, Louisiana (city), SOWELA Technical Community College draws students from across Louisiana and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about SOWELA Technical Community College

Q.How much does SOWELA Technical Community College cost?

The average net price at SOWELA Technical Community College is $7,525 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $15,578.

Q.What is the graduation rate at SOWELA Technical Community College?

SOWELA Technical Community College has a 6-year graduation rate of 42.7% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do SOWELA Technical Community College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median SOWELA Technical Community College graduate earns $32,303 per year.

Q.What programs does SOWELA Technical Community College offer?

SOWELA Technical Community College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Engineering tech, Construction trades, Business.

Q.What is tuition at SOWELA Technical Community College?

Published tuition is $4,305 in-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is SOWELA Technical Community College located?

SOWELA Technical Community College is located in Lake Charles, Louisiana (ZIP 70615).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with SOWELA Technical Community College at their official website.