Howard Community Collegecollege in Columbia, MD

Columbia, Maryland · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$11,133

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

24.0%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

6,649

In-state tuition

$4,080

Out-of-state tuition

$9,624

Cost of attendance

$16,774

Median earnings (10y)

$49,020

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
68.8%
Locale
City

Programs breakdown

12 program areas reported · Heavily focused on humanities & arts (54% of credentials).

  • STEM7%
  • Health22%
  • Business11%
  • Humanities & arts54%
  • Social sciences3%
  • Trades & services3%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

32 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's1,418$25,229$10,200
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's301$63,644$24,560
Business/Commerce, General.Associate's138——
Management Information Systems and Services.Associate's123—$9,095
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Associate's105$58,405$23,113
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Associate's50——
Accounting and Related Services.Associate's35——
Culinary Arts and Related Services.Associate's34——
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Associate's30——
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants.Undergraduate certificate29—$23,608
Education, General.Associate's26——
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.Associate's24$53,398—
Engineering, General.Associate's22——
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions.Associate's22$49,063—
Culinary Arts and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate21——
Accounting and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate21——
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.Undergraduate certificate19——
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications.Undergraduate certificate18——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Associate's16——
Public Health.Associate's15——
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate12——
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions.Associate's11——
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection.Associate's9——
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering.Associate's8——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate7——
Security Science and Technology.Undergraduate certificate7——
Computer Engineering.Associate's6——
Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians.Associate's6——
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection.Undergraduate certificate6——
Hospitality Administration/Management.Undergraduate certificate6——
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians.Associate's5——
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods.Undergraduate certificate5——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About Howard Community College

Howard Community College is a large institution located in Columbia, Maryland, primarily awarding the associate degree. It enrolls roughly 6,649 undergraduate students in a city setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Health professions, Business.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at Howard Community College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $11,133 per year, which is moderately priced compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $4,080 for in-state students and $9,624 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $16,774 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 24.0%, a below-average completion outcome. 68.8% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $49,020 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

Howard Community College confers degrees and certificates across 12 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Health professions, Business. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (54% of credentials), health (22% of credentials), business (11% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in Columbia, Maryland (city), Howard Community College draws students from across Maryland and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about Howard Community College

Q.How much does Howard Community College cost?

The average net price at Howard Community College is $11,133 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $16,774.

Q.What is the graduation rate at Howard Community College?

Howard Community College has a 6-year graduation rate of 24.0% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do Howard Community College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median Howard Community College graduate earns $49,020 per year.

Q.What programs does Howard Community College offer?

Howard Community College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Health professions, Business.

Q.What is tuition at Howard Community College?

Published tuition is $4,080 in-state and $9,624 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is Howard Community College located?

Howard Community College is located in Columbia, Maryland (ZIP 21044).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with Howard Community College at their official website.