San Diego City Collegecollege in San Diego, CA

San Diego, California · Public, 2-year

At a glance

Average net price

$7,935

In-state, after aid

6-year graduation rate

30.4%

Admission rate

Not available

Undergrad size

10,441

In-state tuition

$1,146

Out-of-state tuition

$10,002

Cost of attendance

$21,202

Median earnings (10y)

$38,503

Admissions

SAT average
Not available
ACT midpoint
Not available
Retention
60.9%
Locale
City

Programs breakdown

30 program areas reported · Academic mix is led by humanities & arts (44%), social sciences (18%), stem (15%).

  • STEM15%
  • Health7%
  • Business7%
  • Humanities & arts44%
  • Social sciences18%
  • Trades & services9%

Share of all degrees and certificates awarded in each broad CIP-2 program area (U.S. Department of Education, latest reporting year). Estimated students/yr = share × undergrad size.

Specific majors offered

40 specific majors with reported completions. Earnings shown are median annual earnings 1 year after graduation; debt is median student-loan debt at graduation.

MajorCredentialGradsMedian earningsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Associate's371$23,247$8,933
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Undergraduate certificate332—$7,935
Psychology, General.Associate's191—$10,575
Biology, General.Associate's173$29,874$9,500
Business Administration, Management and Operations.Associate's172$24,048$10,625
Biological and Physical Sciences.Associate's115——
Human Services, General.Associate's88$33,607—
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.Undergraduate certificate87$18,718—
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.Undergraduate certificate85——
Design and Applied Arts.Undergraduate certificate59——
Public Administration and Social Service Professions, Other.Undergraduate certificate53——
Communication and Media Studies.Associate's50——
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Associate's48$63,668—
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.Associate's47——
Design and Applied Arts.Associate's45——
Sociology.Associate's44——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Undergraduate certificate43——
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services.Associate's41——
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.Associate's41——
English Language and Literature, General.Associate's40——
Mathematics.Associate's33——
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication.Associate's32——
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.Undergraduate certificate32——
Political Science and Government.Associate's25——
Environmental Control Technologies/Technicians.Undergraduate certificate24——
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers.Undergraduate certificate23——
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies.Associate's21——
Fine and Studio Arts.Associate's21——
Accounting and Related Services.Associate's21——
Environmental Control Technologies/Technicians.Associate's16——
History.Associate's16——
Physics.Associate's14——
Anthropology.Associate's14——
Economics.Associate's14——
Film/Video and Photographic Arts.Associate's14——
Audiovisual Communications Technologies/Technicians.Associate's13——
Film/Video and Photographic Arts.Undergraduate certificate13——
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.Associate's12——
Engineering, General.Associate's12——
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Associate's11——

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard Field of Study. Earnings cover graduates who received federal financial aid and are working / not enrolled. Cells marked "—" are not reported or were suppressed for privacy.

About San Diego City College

San Diego City College is a large institution located in San Diego, California, primarily awarding the associate degree. It enrolls roughly 10,441 undergraduate students in a city setting. The most popular fields of study include Liberal arts, Visual & performing arts, Health professions.

Cost & tuition

The average net price at San Diego City College — what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships — is $7,935 per year, which is very affordable compared to other U.S. institutions. Sticker tuition runs $1,146 for in-state students and $10,002 for out-of-state students before aid. Total cost of attendance, including housing, books, and living expenses, comes to about $21,202 annually.

Graduation & earnings outcomes

The 6-year graduation rate is 30.4%, a average completion outcome. 60.9% of first-time students return for a second year, a useful proxy for student satisfaction and academic fit. Ten years after enrolling, the median graduate earns $38,503 per year according to U.S. Department of Education earnings tracking.

Programs & majors

San Diego City College confers degrees and certificates across 30 broad program areas, with the largest concentrations of completions in Liberal arts, Visual & performing arts, Health professions. Grouped into wider academic categories, the mix is led by humanities & arts (44% of credentials), social sciences (18% of credentials), stem (15% of credentials), which gives a quick read on the school's overall academic profile. Use the programs breakdown below to see every reported area, an estimated number of students per program per year, and links to compare other U.S. colleges in the same field.

Admissions

Admission rate data is not reported for this institution, which is typical for open-admission community and trade schools.

Location & campus

Set in San Diego, California (city), San Diego City College draws students from across California and beyond. Prospective students often weigh proximity, cost of living, and local industry demand when choosing between schools in this area.

Frequently asked questions about San Diego City College

Q.How much does San Diego City College cost?

The average net price at San Diego City College is $7,935 per year after grants and scholarships, with total cost of attendance around $21,202.

Q.What is the graduation rate at San Diego City College?

San Diego City College has a 6-year graduation rate of 30.4% according to the latest U.S. Department of Education data.

Q.How much do San Diego City College graduates earn?

Ten years after enrolling, the median San Diego City College graduate earns $38,503 per year.

Q.What programs does San Diego City College offer?

San Diego City College offers degrees across 12 program areas. The most popular by share of graduates are Liberal arts, Visual & performing arts, Health professions.

Q.What is tuition at San Diego City College?

Published tuition is $1,146 in-state and $10,002 out-of-state. Most students pay less than the sticker price after financial aid.

Q.Where is San Diego City College located?

San Diego City College is located in San Diego, California (ZIP 92101).

Data on this page comes from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard and IPEDS, the federal sources colleges are required to report to. Net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures reflect the latest available federal release. Always verify current tuition and program availability directly with San Diego City College at their official website.